12 new members inducted to Attales NJHS

12 new members inducted to Attales NJHS
Posted on 12/01/2023
NJHS New Inductees 2023-24

Twelve 7th and 8th Grade students exemplifying the characters of citizenship, leadership, scholarship, character and service were inducted Wednesday, Nov. 29 into the Attales Middle School chapter of the National Junior Honor Society.

As 2023-24 Attales NJHS President, 8th Grader Ella Koch presided over the ceremony which was orchestrated by current NJHS members. Students inducted are: Zidane Aminu, Ahmed Choudhry, Alaina Grodziak, Miley Lino, Rose Marczyk, Alexandra Mastro, Michael Newhall, Ayesha Rizwan, Aubrie Scull, Luna Taraborrelli, Onalee Wells, and Victoria Witmer. 

Attales NJHS is advised by teacher Sherri Liepe. Membership into the NJHS requires an extensive application process that includes academic and extracurricular exceptionalism, essay writing, letters of recommendation and hours of community service.

During the year, students in the NJHS participate in a variety of service projects at both the school and in the community such as food drives, raking and planting projects in the spring and fall, and supporting Absecon’s local veterans organizations.

Wednesday’s ceremony included guest speakers Board of Education Member Raquel Law, City Councilman Tom Marrone, and American Legion Post 28 Cmdr. Kevin Sedlak, as well as remarks from Absecon Superintendent Dr. Daniel J. Dooley and Attales Principal Kevin Burns.

Reflecting school leaders’ profound commitment to student leadership development, the National Association of Secondary School Principals (NASSP) founded NJHS in 1928. NJHS chapters operate in all 50 states and schools around the world, engaging and serving more than one million students.

To see photos and video from the event, click here.

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2024 SchoolMessenger Corporation. All rights reserved.