Teacher of the Year 22-23

Teacher of the Year/ESP of the Year nominations now open!
Posted on 10/24/2022
Teacher of the Year nomination flyer

Do you know an Absecon teacher or educational services professional who deserves to be recognized for the contributions they have made in our school or district?

Now is the time to nominate them! 

As part of the annual Governor's Educator of the Year award, Absecon Public Schools is accepting nomination forms for our local awards. Deadline for nominations is Nov. 22.

The local winners will be submitted to the state for consideration in the Governor's Educator of the Year awards. 

Please read the below eligibility criteria before making your selection and filling out a nomination form. 

Forms can be downloaded HERE and filled out electronically, or printed and filled out by hand, but must be submitted to Karen Chubb, Absecon Public Schools secretary, by Nov. 22.

They can be emailed to [email protected] or handed in to the front office of your school ATTN: Karen Chubb.

Eligibility Criteria
Be an exceptionally skilled and dedicated licensed classroom teacher (Pre-K through Grade 12 in a public or charter school) where teaching is the primary responsibility rather than administrative or supervisory responsibilities, or an educational services professional who is listed as one of the eligible enrollment areas
Must have the latest summative rating of at least effective; if the teacher or the ESP has not received a summative rating at the time of application, then their most current practice rating should be at least effective or the equivalent
Be an expert in the field who inspires students of all backgrounds and abilities to learn
Actively collaborates with colleagues, students, and families to create a strong culture of respect and success
Demonstrate leadership and innovation in educational activities at the school, district and/or state and national levels that take place both within and outside the school setting
Have the respect and administration of students, parents, and colleagues
Have not earned the title of Teacher of the Year or ESP of the Year for the past five years
Note: There is no requirement for minimum number of years in the classroom; please note that this is an award based on merit and leadership and not to be given out solely based on years of service, such as a retirement award

Educational Services Professionals Enrollment Areas
To compete for Educational Services Professional (ESP) of the Year nominees must be classified as one of the following:
Anti-Bullying Specialist
Athletic Trainer
Behavior Specialist
Child Study Team
Cooperative Education Coordinator/Hazardous Occupations
Educational Interpreter (Cued Speech, Transliteration, Oral Interpreting, Sign Language Interpreting)
Guidance / School Counselor
Learning Disabilities Teacher Consultant
Library Media Specialist
Mathematics Specialist/Mathematics Coach
Nurse (Instructional and Non-instructional)
Occupational Therapist
Paraprofessional (Instructional)
to top
Physical Therapist
Reading Specialist/Literacy Coach
Social Worker
Speech Language Specialist
Student Assistant Coordinator
Technology Coach

If you are having trouble viewing the document, you may download the document.

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2022 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.