Teachers of the Year 2022-23

Absecon Schools announces 22-23 Teachers, ESPs of the Year
Posted on 12/09/2022
Graphic featuring this year's teachers of the year

ABSECON — Absecon Public Schools is pleased to announce its 2022-23 Teachers of the Year and Educational Services Professionals of the Year, all of whom have demonstrated tremendous dedication to their profession and the students they serve.

This year’s Emma C. Attales Middle School Teacher of the Year is Spanish teacher Nilceya Ramirez and ESP of the Year is District Math Coach Kelly Montgomery. The H.A. Marsh Elementary School Teacher of the Year is third grade teacher Rose Guerrera and ESP of the Year is District Safety and Security Specialist and Behavior Specialist Brian Kehoe.

The Teacher of the Year and ESP of the Year awards are given out annually as part of the Governor's Educator of the Year award. The local winners will be submitted to the state for consideration in the Governor's awards. They are also encouraged to apply for Atlantic County Teacher of the Year.

“Congratulations to this year’s Teachers and ESPs of the Year at Absecon Public Schools, and to all of this year’s nominees. Each nomination form was a testament to the knowledge, dedication and passion that our educators bring to the district and their classrooms every day,” said Superintendent Dr. Daniel J. Dooley. “We are so proud to have these educators choose to bring their exceptional skills and professionalism to Absecon’s school community. I wish all of our winners best of luck in the upcoming county and state competitions.”

Emma C. Attales Middle School

Attales Spanish teacher Nilceya Ramirez has been with the Absecon School District for nearly two decades. In her nomination form, she is described as a “vital, can’t-function-without-her employee.” She was applauded by her nominators for her willingness to help wherever she can, but especially in translating for the Spanish-speaking population in the district, which has grown exponentially over the last several years.

One of her students wrote of her: “Mrs. Ramirez deserves to be noticed for her amazing teaching skills and her patience [for] every one of her students.” Another added, “it feels like she’s my family, [she] makes me feel like home.”

Kelly Montgomery has served as the District Math Coach for the last five years, and prior to that was a math teacher at Attales. This is Montgomery’s second time being recognized for her teaching efforts by the district. In 2017-18, she was named Attales Teacher of the Year, Atlantic County Teacher of the Year and was a finalist for the state Teacher of the Year award.

“Ms. Montgomery’s dedication to the Absecon community is reflected in the successes of the numerous programs she contributes to both in and outside of the Absecon School District. [She] is highly respected by her colleagues and deserving of the title of ESP of the Year,” her nomination form reads. “She works tirelessly to support the staff in and meeting the needs of their students and closing the achievement gaps.”

H.A. Marsh Elementary School

Rose Guerrera has been a teacher in Absecon for 16 years and has been an educator for 24 years.  Before returning to the classroom this year, she served as a school reading specialist for 21 years. Guerrera was praised by her nominators for her professionalism, dedication to the school and her students, and the calm – but fun – atmosphere she creates for her class.

“She has made such a difference in my daughter’s life,” one parent wrote. “This is the first year [my student] has exhibited such conviction about her abilities. I am so happy for her.”

“Her level of commitment not just to teaching, but to involvement in her students’ growth is astonishing,” wrote another parent. “She has not only elevated our kids’ minds, but their spirits, as well.”

Brian Kehoe joined Absecon Public Schools in 2018 and has served the district in various capacities, including as a social studies teacher. In addition to leading the district’s disciplinary efforts since 2021, he oversees all school safety and security measures and is currently co-supervisor of the before and after-school care program, STARS.

“Since taking on the role of district disciplinarian, [Brian] has enhanced our school climate through his consistent, fair and respectful disciplinary methods,” his nomination form reads. “He remains accessible, approachable and well-liked by students and staff.”

This year's nominees were:
Adams, Chrissy
Barron, Valerie
Belletini, April
Bruccoleri, Sabrina
Delucia, Megan
Guerrera, Rose
Miller, Michele
Newkirk, Jessica
Packard, Jessica
Broomhead, Robert
Guanchez, Allison
Hess, Allison
McCully, Cailin
McGowan, Catherine
Broomhead, Carly
Sharpley, Gina
Tramontana, Susie
D'Amato, Alex
Ramirez, Nilcy
Morgenweck, Korey
King, Christina

    Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2024 SchoolMessenger Corporation. All rights reserved.